History Girls











{April 5, 2011}   Unrequited Love in the Middle Ages ~ A Thirteenth Century Poem from the Heart

I. I was living pleasantly, serenely and peacefully
the day that Love entered my heart,
for I neither loved nor was loved,
nor did I feel any ill or injury from love.
Now I do not know what love is or what it is all about,
for I am in love with a lady who does not love me at all,
and yet, all that I possess I have from her
and I would have the whole world from her if it were mine.

From: http://ping.fm/AgvNM

Leave a Reply

et cetera
